Harrogate Knit and Stitch 2012

On Sunday I, along with the Knitting Society headed up North for 2012’s Knit and Stitch show. It was a cold morning and we had to be up at a horrendous 7 am! It was a quick journey up  on the coach though (the driver of which used to work in various Knitting factories around Nottingham! We left around half 8 arriving in Harrogate at around 11 am. The city was very quaint and beautiful. Though you could see the effects the floods had, mini swimming pools everywhere!

I didn’t buy any yarn as not only was it mega expensive but I have quite a lot to use up at home! I enjoyed looking around at all the different types – I think alpaca was my favourite. Especially baby Alpaca – oh it was so soft! What did catch my eye however, was a hand spinner – my mind was overwhelmed with the possibilities! I shall learn to spin my own yarn! It’s called a Bogway and they were made by sweet couple from Holland. I received around 50 grams of unspun wool free to practice with and I am already loving it – although I haven’t quite mastered the skill. 

Image

 

The red piece of yarn you can see is called the Leader yarn. You spin that with a piece of the wool until it is tightly intertwined – from here spinning the yarn is much easier! 

Ill post pictures of a finished ball soon.

Another little toy that caught my eye was a Lucet. I thought the pretty braids and different kinds of patterns that the Lucet create would be perfect finishing touches to cushions, borders, bunting and more!

Image 

Unfortunately I didn’t get to take any pictures of the beautiful city of Harrogate because we were so busy exploring the show, the Christmas market and eating pork scratchings! I vow to go back next year and have a better look around, may even treat ourselves to a weekend stay with a day in the spa!

Thanks for reading 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Harrogate Knit and Stitch 2012

  1. I went to the show too! I was so overwhelmed with how much there was to look at that I didn’t get a proper look at anything! I will definitely be more prepared next time when I know what to expect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

