Crochet – Imagination Required

A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination. 
Nelson Mandela 

Let’s get back to some business now. It has been a very busy few weeks  and consequently has left me little time to really settle down and hook hook hook! Sitting down with a brew, surrounded by a collection of yarns, patterns and hooks is something I am desperately looking forward to.

During my trip to Spain I was struck with a moment of  colour-crochet inspiration and since I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind I thought I would not only act upon it but blog to. Everywhere we went in Andalucía  orange trees lined the streets.

IMG-20130102-01174


IMG-20130102-01105

The above photo shows the gorgeous Patio de los Naranjos and in the background the Sevilla cathedral.

IMG-20130102-01173

The above photo shows the gardens of the Real Alcazar of Seville. A beautfiul abundance of orange trees.

IMG-20130103-01202

The last photo displays outside the walls of Alcázar de los Reyes Cristianos (Palace of the Christian Kings)

I love the way the colour of the oranges shines through the greens of the leaves so explosively – They just POP with colour! This was my inspiration.  I have decided that my next project will be a blanket which I shall name Naranjo ( Yes, silly me, I am giving my blanket a name – it means Orange Tree in Spanish). The quilt will be a simple granny square design with a variety of shades in orange yarn as the centres which shall represent the oranges. There will be variety of shades in green representing  the leaves of the orange trees. The edge of the blanket will be beige and will represent the walls of the palaces and cathedrals which surround the orange tree groves. So hopefully it look like an orange grove within a palace or cathedral walls.

So here is my Naranjo stash! AHHHH IT LOOKS SO YUMMYY!

These are my oranges!

P1040003

An orange tree surrounded by dazzling leaves (this is where you need a little imagination)

P1040006

So far the colours that I have in my stash… I won’t be buying any more until I have ran out!

P1040011

The very beginning of my Naranjo blanket!

P1040015

I cannot wait to start hooking this up. I am undecided as to whether this will be for myself or as a present – though I am sure I will figure it out when it’s all finished.

Thank you kindly for reading!

Dominique

3 thoughts on “Crochet – Imagination Required

Leave a Reply

