Elderflower Fritters

What a busy few months it has been! I cannot believe how much time has passed since I last posted! I’ve finished University, moved out, taken a well needed holiday (or two), got a new job and I have graduation on the horizon! All very exciting but it has left little time for crochet… I have experienced some serious yarny withdrawal symptoms. However I am, now I am settling down, getting back into my crochet!

I spent a few days in Loughton, Essex. A very lovely place indeed and situated on the edge of the absolutely stunning Epping Forest. We spent a lot of time walking and exploring it. At the moment as it is the perfect time for elderflowers, a friend (Sop) and I decided that we had to use them for some kind of recipe. We pushed away any cordial or alcohol recipes because of the high sugar content. After a little research Sop came across the Elderflower Fritter recipe, found here or here. Sorry in advance for the bad quality photos i took them on my phone rather than my camera. 

We made a small batch of very light batter and dipped the Elderflowers in the batter so all the flower heads were covered and then in the deep fat fryer they went.

DSC_0895

I think the oil was around 170 degrees! Ouch. The batter caused the oil to bubble and froth.

DSC_0899

We let the Elderflowers cool for a few minutes on some tin foil and as they cooled we dribbled some delicious honey over them.

DSC_0913

They actually looked really appetising and smelt lovely.

DSC_0904

DSC_0916

…and suffice to say, they did not last long at all. 

DSC_0919

 

SO! Make the most of the elderflower season, Eldeflowers have a really lovely but subtle taste. There are many other recipes that you can experiment with like this, this or this. But I wholeheartedly recommend the Elderflower Fritters there is something strangely satisfying about munching on some tiny, delicate flowers.

Dominique

Leave a Reply

