Crochet “circle in a square” Granny Sqaures

P1060693

Here is my decorative circle in a square crochet piece. Initially I had envisioned that I would make my first cushion cover but I didn’t like how thin the yarn was (Acrylic – I know I know, I vow to start buying decent quality yarn) and so when I had finished up all my circle-squares I decided it would look really nice in a frame and on a wall somewhere, probably in my mums kitchen. She has a calming sky blue blank wall and I think it would look fantastic up there. I just need to find a frame for it.

I loved crochetting up all the circles in squares but joining them all together was a pain in the butt! It took much longer than I anticipated. Perhaps due to the technique that I used which was sewing them together, next time I might try and crochet them together.

Here it is half finished!

P1060690

I added a border to give it a more “finished” look and I like the way the shells make it look more feminine and pretty.

Here is a glimpse of the border up close. It is a simple shell pattern

(3 treble crochet in one stitch, skip 1 stitch, single crochet in the next stitch, 3 treble crochet in the next stitch – repeat all the way round)

Very simple and quick but a lovely finish.

P1060694

Here are the circles up close.

P1060692

 Though I do have quite a few projects on my hook at the moment, I really enjoyed hooking up this piece and it’s nice to have a finished project! It only took me two days.  I love the feeling of a finished piece. I feel like I have actually accomplished something which is a mighty good feeling.

What are your current projects? I’d love to here about them or even see them – leave a link to your blog.

Thanks for reading

Dominique

4 thoughts on “Crochet “circle in a square” Granny Sqaures

  1. I have never tried granny squares with circles in the middle but this looks great. I love how you’ve framed all the bright colours with the white.

    Like

Leave a Reply

