March Spotlight:: An Interview with Lucy Snowden

Welcome to March’s edition of Spotlight where I shine the light on a crafter/maker/artist/creative from around the world.

 

This month I couldn’t help but be captivated by the wonderful knotting of Lucy Snowden. On Instagram Lucy posts about her macramé makes, from delicate wall hangings to plant hangers, and also the stunning views of her local area. I particularly like the intermittent pops of colour Lucy uses in her work that really adds a wonderful bit of detail.

 

IMG_7965

 

Please introduce yourself and your creative pursuits.

Hi,   I’m Lucy.  I live in the Mountains of North East of Victoria in Australia with my husband and two daughters.  I feel like I’ve always been a maker although its probably only recently that I really realized the extent of this.  In primary school I got the prizes for craft and some of my really strong memories are of needlework lessons and making an embroidered bag that I still have and love.  I also got really into making my own soft toys and cross stitch embroidery.  In my twenties I didn’t make so many things and pursued my other love of all things outdoors.  It was when I became pregnant that I suddenly started to feel a real urge to be creative again, discovered sewing blogs and really started sewing again in earnest, making most of my clothes (not baby ones though just to fiddly for me!).  Last year we moved across the country  and as winter drew in I felt the urge to start weaving and to try out macramé.  Actually I’d been wanting to try for ages but the time and the place just felt right.

 

Did anyone teach you macrame or was it self taught?

I learnt macramé from books and patterns and a tiny bit of Youtube.  We used to sail a lot when I was a kid so I learnt a few knots from my Dad back then.  I could tie and knew when to use a bowline, reef knot and a half hitch.  I love that many knots also have a very practical function as well as being decorative. Despite this it took me a long while to get into macramé.  I had a very unreasonable fear about cutting rope!  I borrowed a macramé book from the library and made my 1st very basic hanging and a little plant hanger.  Then a few months later I finally brought some patterns from Reform Fibers and haven’t looked back from there.   Now I just don’t worry and err on the side of cutting too much.

 

For your macrame pieces do you follow patterns or is it random?

Since those 1st ones which I used one for I haven’t followed a pattern.  The knots you tie are quite simple so for me it’s making up the combinations which is the creative part.  Unlike making clothes where the end product has to fit you, macramé feels very free, you are just making something that you like the look of.  I find that very satisfying.

 

Do you have a creative routine, if so what is it?

Not really.  My two girls are both at school now for the 1st time this year so I am hoping I will be able to get into more of a routine.  I prefer to work on things for a few hours at a time if I can to really get into the flow of it.  I will normally put on a podcast or two or listen to some nice folk music on spotify.  That’s kind of my perfect day…… home alone, creating, with a good cup of coffee, a good podcast and the beautiful mountain view out the window.  If it’s winter and I can have the log burner on then even better.  

 

What do you see for 2017?

I hope to turn my macramé from a glorified hobby into more of a business.  

 

How do you feel when you’re creating?

Happy, absorbed, peaceful…..like I don’t want to be anywhere else.

 

Do you have any other creative pursuits?

I love to sew too, otherwise parenting is a pretty creative pursuit if you ask me.  My other hobbies are paragliding, yoga, snowboarding, and hiking.  Kind of hard to fit these all.  The outdoor ones are pretty weather dependent so if the weather is right you will probably find me outside doing one of these.

 

Any advice for those interested in or learning macrame?

Don’t stress.  What’s the worst that could happen?  You waste a bit of rope?  You can always get more. I’m still learning.  Keep making and experimenting.  I’ve tried a few different styles and feel like I am slowly finding my own voice.

 

What do you know that you wish you’d known when you began?

Just that rope cutting thing again.  Otherwise nothing, it’s the learning which is half of the fun.

 

IMG_7976IMG_7952IMG_7937IMG_7912

 

You can find me @stringstories on Instagram and @stringstoriesdesigns on Facebook.

 

Thanks for that Lucy, I look forward to seeing your pursuits and makes in 2017.

 

You can find other Spotlight interviews below:

February – Charlie Blackman

Look out for another amazing creative in April!

Thanks for reading crafters, hookers, knitters, makers, artists and creatives!

Dominique
MyOtherLoves

 

One thought on “March Spotlight:: An Interview with Lucy Snowden

Leave a Reply

